32 C
Wednesday, June 19, 2024

Padre Burgos port gets upgraded

Department of Transportation (DOTr) Secretary Jaime Bautista earlier said that the Padre Burgos Port in Southern Leyte is part of the ongoing projects in seven provincial ports; the six others are the Balogo Port in Marinduque, Banate Port in Iloilo, Unidos Port and Balangonan Port in Davao Occidental, Tagudin Port in Ilocos Sur, and Pangasinan Riverlanding Port.
Padre Burgos port is the jump-off port to Limasawa Island and to San Franciso town in Panaon Island where Napantao Marine Sanctuary, another great diving site, is located.
The construction and rehabilitation of these ports are being done to support more transport of goods, according to Secretary Bautista.
The DOTr also plans to develop airports and maritime facilities further to improve cargo movements across the country. “With a country of around 7,641 islands distributed across more than 2.2 million square-kilometer of total area, movement of goods via air and water is critical,” Timothy John Batan, undersecretary for planning and project development of DOTr said.

Related Articles

Trending Topics