27.1 C
Wednesday, June 19, 2024

Southern Leyte among most vulnerable due to climate change

The Department of Environment and Natural Resources (DENR) has identified 24 provinces in the Philippines that are most vulnerable based on biodiversity key areas, poverty level and exposure to climate change, according to DENR climate change senior environmental management service specialist Gigi Merilo.
Agriculture and infrastructure are the sectors greatly affected by climate change that could amount to billions of pesos.
These provinces are Southern Leyte, Eastern Samar, Western Samar, Northern Samar, Zamboanga del Norte, Bukidnon, Sarangani, North Cotabato, Sultan Kudarat, Surigao del Norte, Surigao del Sur, Dinagat Islands, Maguindanao, Sulu, Lanao del Sur, Apayao, Kalinga, Ifugao, Mountain Province, Masbate, Sorsogon, Catanduanes, Negros Oriental, and Siquijor.
Strong typhoons, El Niño and urban heat are among the effects of climate change.
Merilo further said that the developed countries that emit larger carbon footprints should take responsibility in helping the Philippines address climate-related concerns.

Related Articles

Trending Topics